Cartoon museum meeting 2012

the 4th cartoon museum meeting will be held in Kruishoutem – Belgium

Participants and there favourite cartoons (part I) 2012/09/06

Filed under: Uncategorized — Admin @ 9:26 am

Today the pre-conference starts at 5:30 pm.  We did ask the participants to sent us a favourite cartoon. Here comes a first selection with the comments.

This cartoon I like very much. It’s my work awarded Grande Premio on PortoCartoon 2011. I think that I can write about this work a long story. The title alone explains a lot ‘My Castle’. Drawing idea is taken straight from life. More and more people live in houses isolated from the rest of the world. See the world by camera eyes, contact with friends on facebook, order the food through the internet. This cartoon is just about what I wrote above.

Zygmunt Zaradkiewicz

This is a cartoon of the artist Vasile Craita Mandra from Romania. He is a painter. I should say: „How this extremely talented humorist be a painter?!“. He the most spontaneous and humorous drawer I ever saw.  
This specific cartoon represents a general look of the political situation in Romania since 25 years.I see myself myself preparing to jump into the pool. It seems that the situation never stops. 
Mean while I saw in entire Craita’s opera the roots of the Moldavian popular humor.  I am part of it. I know his works from the old magazine „Urzica“.  
It is such a pity that he is not present anymore in cartoon exhibition. What can we do?...  
Florian Doru Crihana

We chose the cartoon ‘Cuts in culture’ by Tom Janssen, published in the Dutch newspaper ‘Trouw’ the 22nd of October 2010 and part of the collection Markiezenhof.
The Prime Minister Rutte of the Netherlands plays violin, but instead of a violin bow he is using a saw, with the underlying message the cut by the government in the arts and culture sector.

Het Markiezenhof

The collection of KARIKATURUM has more than five thousand cartoons. I was asked to pick the favorite, but believe me, it’s impossible to do. I chose the cartoon by Dmitriy Skazhenik , from the 1st KARIKATURUM,  the theme “Siberia – surGUT». This cartoon  took a third place, nothing can be done – it was the opinion of the international jury. But this image of Ukrainian artist has become a landmark for many events and projects of the museum and the city. It became a symbol that deplete the stereotype that in Siberia valenki are worn all the year around. Yes! In valenki (sometimes), but on high heels!

Svetlana Kruglova

I find this very difficult, there are so many different styles … I do not really have a favorite cartoon, but I have chosen a recent cartoon of Florian Doru Crihana. During his exhibition in Kruishoutem in the autumn of 2011 we visited Bruges. Florian was very impressed by this city, took lots of pictures, and said he wanted to make a new cartoon series about Bruges. These will be exhibited in January 2013 in Bruges. This drawing ‘Needles’ shows that he understands Bruges. He makes the link between the (needle)towers and the pins that are used in making lace, typical for the famous Bruges lace.

Rudy Gheysens

 

Leave a Reply

